PrimeTime Logo
PrimeTime for schools
Sherry Lansing
Founder, PrimeTime; CEO, The Sherry Lansing Foundation

Sherry LansingDuring almost 30 years in the motion picture business, Sherry Lansing was involved in the production, marketing, and distribution of more than 200 films, including Academy Award winners Forrest Gump (1994), Braveheart (1995), and Titanic (1997). Throughout her film career, Lansing earned a reputation as a trailblazer, a visionary leader, and a creative filmmaker. In 1980, she became the first woman to head a major film studio when she was appointed President of 20th Century Fox. Later, as an independent producer, Lansing was responsible for such successful films as, Fatal Attraction, The Accused, School Ties, Indecent Proposal, and Black Rain. Returning to the executive ranks in 1992, she was named Chairman and CEO of Paramount Pictures and began an unprecedented tenure that lasted more than 12 years (1992 - 2005), during which the studio enjoyed enormous creative and financial success.

The Sherry Lansing Foundation (SLF), a nonprofit organization dedicated to cancer research, health, public education, and encore career opportunities, was formed in 2005. Among the SLF's initiatives is the EnCorps Teachers Program, founded by Lansing to retrain retired and mid-career professionals from the technology sector to serve as math and science teachers in California public schools. Lansing – a former math and English teacher – is also the founder of PrimeTime LAUSD, a partnership with the Los Angeles Unified School District. PrimeTime engages retirees in improving the state of public education through targeted volunteerism. In addition, Lansing serves on the Board of Regents of the University of California. She is also a co-founder of the Big Sisters of Greater Los Angeles Future Fund, which provides college scholarships to deserving "Little Sisters."

In December 2004, Lansing was appointed to the Independent Citizens' Oversight Committee (ICOC) of the California Institute for Regenerative Medicine. CIRM was established by California's groundbreaking ballot measure, Proposition 71, which provides $3 billion in funding for embryonic stem cell research. Lansing serves as the cancer patient advocate, as well as Chair of the Governance Committee and Co-Chair of the Scientific and Medical Accountability Standards Working Group.

Additionally, Lansing serves on the boards of the American Association for Cancer Research Foundation, the Carter Center,, and the Entertainment Industry Foundation. She also serves on the Executive Committee of Friends of Cancer Research and lends her energy and talents to STOP CANCER, a nonprofit philanthropic group she founded in partnership with the late Dr. Armand Hammer. In addition, Lansing is a co-founder of the Stand Up To Cancer initiative, which funds collaborative, multi-institutional cancer research "Dream Teams."

Lansing graduated cum laude with a Bachelor of Science Degree from Northwestern University in 1966.

Honors Received

Honorary Degrees
  • Honorary Doctor of Sciences, City of Hope, Los Angeles
  • Honorary Doctorate in Fine Arts, American Film Institute
  • Doctor of Humane Letters, Columbia College
  • Doctor of Humane Letters, Emerson College
  • Doctor of Humane Letters, University of Miami
  • Doctor of Humane Letters, Northwestern University
  • Doctor of Humane Letters, Occidental College
  • Doctor of Humane Letters, Pennsylvania State University
  • Doctor of Humane Letters, Pepperdine University Doctor of Letters, Pine Manor College
Awards and Honors
  • The Lifetime Achievement Award, 27th Annual Israel Film Festival, Los Angeles - 2013
  • The Dallas Star Award, 7th Annual Dallas International Film Festival - 2013
  • The Colleagues Champion of Children Award, Children's Institute, Inc. - 2012
  • Stem Cell Action Leadership Award, World Stem Cell Summit - 2011
  • Person of the Year, Big Ten Club of Southern California - 2011
  • AIXplorer Achievement Award - 2010
  • Centennial Medal for Distinguished Public Service, American Assn. for Cancer Research - 2009
  • Patron of the Arts Award, The Screen Actors Guild Foundation - 2009
  • Double Helix Medal, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory - 2008
  • Humanitarian of the Year, Rotary Club of Century City - 2008
  • Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award – 79th Academy Awards - 2007
  • American Association of Cancer Research Public Service Award - 2006
  • Vanguard Award, Women's Leadership Exchange - 2006
  • Exemplary Leadership in Management Award, UCLA Anderson School of Management - 2005
  • Big Brothers Big Sisters (Los Angeles) Legacy Award - 2005
  • Horatio Alger Humanitarian Award - 2004
  • Woodrow Wilson Award for Corporate Citizenship - 2003
  • Woman of the Year, United Way of Greater Los Angeles - 2001
  • Milestone Award, Producers Guild of America - 2000
  • Most Powerful Woman in Hollywood (named by Hollywood Reporter) - 1999 and 2000
  • Outstanding National Leadership Award , Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center - 1997
  • Pioneer of the Year, Foundation of Motion Picture Pioneers (first woman pioneer) - 1996
  • Achievement Award, Overcoming Obstacles - 1996
  • Silver Achievement Award, YWCA of Greater Los Angeles - 1996
  • Achievement Award, Chicago Women in Film - 1996
  • Motion Picture Showmanship Award, Publicists Guild - 1996
  • Moving Image Award, American Museum of the Moving Image - 1995
  • Exceptional Achievement Award, Women's Project and Productions - 1994
  • Woman of Vision, Retinitis Pigmentosa International - 1994
  • Crystal Apple Award, AIDS Project Los Angeles - 1994
  • Humanitarian Award, National Conference of Christians and Jews - 1993
  • Golden Plate, American Academy of Achievement - 1993
  • Distinguished Alumna Award, The University of Chicago Laboratory Schools - 1993
  • Sterling Award, Big Sisters of Los Angeles - 1992
  • Distinguished Service Award for the Performing Arts, Simon Wiesenthal Center - 1992
  • Humanitarian of the Year Award, Mount Sinai Service Club of Chicago - 1990
  • Raquela Woman of Valor Award, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev - 1990
  • Alfred P. Sloan, Jr. Memorial Award, American Cancer Society - 1989
  • Humanitarian Award, Los Angeles Commission on Assaults Against Women - 1989
  • Leadership Award, National Women's Economic Alliance Foundation - 1986
  • Businessperson of the Year, Stanford Business School Alumni Association - 1982
  • Distinguished Community Service Award, Brandeis University - 1982
  • Outstanding Woman in Film, Women in Film - 1981
  • Award of Hope, City of Hope - 1981
  • Artistic Achievement Award, American Jewish Congress - 1981
  • Woman of Achievement, United Jewish Welfare Fund - 1980
  • Economic Equity Award, Women's Equity Action League - 1980
  • Woman of the Future, Ladies' Home Journal - 1979 and 1989